This is a copy of a letter written by the late great Philip K. Dick. Dick, as everyone should know, was the author of Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, upon which the Blade Runner was loosely based. "Loosely" is the operative word here. While the story is basically the same, the two works are so different in tone that they seem unrelated. This raises the question, until now largely unanswered, "What would Dick have thought of the film?"

Now we know:
(H/t philipkdick.com)

Dick recognized that it was not at all science fiction as he and his cohort were used to, but something new, different, and in many ways better.

With all due respect to Dick, I cannot help but agree. The book is quite good, but the movie is great. While the book has many great ideas, the movie immerses the viewer in a whole new dimension and opened up new realms of possibility for science fiction writers. This is a rare case in which the film is better than the book, and we are all happier for it.
7/12/2012 01:39:56 am

There are a handful of fascinating points over time in the following paragraphs but I don�t know if I see them all center to heart. There�s some validity but I most certainly will take hold opinion until I check into it further. Exceptional write-up , thanks therefore we want considerably much more! Added to FeedBurner as properly

Reply
8/14/2012 10:28:24 am

I really like this article.I undeniably will undoubtedly revisit.I wish to apprentice while you amend your website.This article is very interesting.

Reply
8/14/2012 10:29:44 am

Encouraged each other and learn from each other,I find it is really useful for me.I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.Thanks for your sharing!

Reply
8/20/2012 09:30:55 pm

Great info, thanks

Reply
10/25/2017 10:03:07 pm

In terms of keeping any clear residence, several property owners have got active daily activities in which do not allow these to clear their particular properties by themselves. As a result, it's required to retain the services of residence washing organizations to help keep your property seeking the finest constantly.

Reply



Leave a Reply.